Fair Trade Friday

Redeem consumerism

I am currently sitting in my bed with pneumonia. My upper respiratory bronchitis sinus infection has now settled into pneumonia. Fun right? Let’s just say it’s been a LONG couple of months of sickness for me. When I found out about joining the Fair Trade Blogging team I was so excited and had elaborate blogging schemes to talk to you about Fair Trade Friday so that you’d want to spend ALL your money there. I still hope you spend ALL your money but I am coming to you a bit more weak and simple. Kind of like offering up a couple loaves of bread and fish and praying God multiplies my efforts. Except its really like a bunch of crumbs because, well, pneumonia and raising 3 small children.

The idea of fair trade intimates me. Questions like where, who and how my stuff is made. Thinking about how transactions should be fair or mutual for both seller and the consumer. It takes extra brain and heart energy that most Americans don’t take the time to do. We are consumers. Consumers that do not care much for the seller. The idea of stuff has become so apart of our culture that the person making it often doesn’t even enter our mind. What are the conditions in which they make this product? Are they getting paid enough to sustain basic needs? Who owns the company and how much cut are they getting? What country is this being made in and how does that factor into this situation? And on and on and on. You see. Tiring.

I’ll be the first one to admit, I can over process things to the max. And all INFJ’s said Amen! But I think there is something here for everybody. Something to ponder about how we Americans, how we Christians do consumerism. It’s too easy NOT to think about the implications of our  stuff. Look around your house right now. I’m looking around mine. (It’s a MESS by the way) What if all the stuff you had came from fair trade. What if all the furniture and trinkets, and clothes and dishes and so and so and so on was made by a person you knew by name. What if you knew you helped empower that person. Or because of your purchase, you are helping them provide shelter and food for their family. What if you knew that you helped a mother feed her children and send them to school.

It can be scary to walk into something big. It can be overwhelming when you think about how your consumerism effects the world. But that is never a good excuse to not do something. Just because its big and scary. There is always a place to start. And this is my start. The Fair Trade Friday box and Mercy House are my start in connecting my consumerism to my heart and changing a women’s life. You can do a one time purchase or you can sign up to be a member for their fun boxes and receive different stuff from around the world every single month.

Here at the blog and on my instagram I will be sharing more about these organizations and their products. More importantly I will be sharing stories from women that are being impacted. Won’t you join me again? Share with family and friends. It could mean the world not to me but to them!

FFT box

2 thoughts on “Fair Trade Friday

  1. “It can be scary to walk into something big. It can be overwhelming when you think about how your consumerism effects the world. But that is never a good excuse to not do something. Just because its big and scary. There is always a place to start. And this is my start.”

    I LOVE this! It is such a HUGE thing, and it’s easier to keep my eyes closed instead of asking the hard questions. But you’re so right, there’s always a place to start!

Leave a Reply

